Monday, 18 May 2015

The Happyever Afterlife of Rosie Potter by Kate Winter

What They say
Falling in love is never simple. Especially when you're dead.
When Rosie Potter wakes up one morning with what she assumes is the world's worst hangover, the last thing she expects is to discover that she's actually dead. With a frustrating case of amnesia, suspicious circumstances surrounding her untimely demise, and stuck wearing her ugliest flannel PJs, Rosie must figure out not only what happened last night, but why on earth she's still here.
Slowly the mystery unravels, but there are many other secrets buried in the quiet Irish village of Ballycarragh, and nobody is as innocent as they first appear. Aided by the unlikeliest of allies in her investigation, Rosie discovers that life after death isn't all it's cracked up to be, particularly when you might just be falling in love . . .
In this hilarious, life-affirming and romantic journey through Rosie Potter's afterlife, she shares the ghostly tale of how she lived, she died, and she loved (in that order).

What I Say:

I would like to thank Clara Diaz for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

When Rosie wakes up with what she thinks is the mother of all hangovers she is shocked to discover that it isn't a hangover but she is actually dead and a ghost.  Rosie convinces herself the reason she is a ghost is to find out what happened to her, but is that really the reason she is a ghost?

Rosie, even though she is a ghost is one of the most unique characters that you can't help but love even though they have made bad decisions.  These are decisions that Rosie comes to terms with and maybe also regret.  You would think this is a sad tale but no, within the story there are lots of laughs along the way, especially when Rosie is haunting her ex boyfriend Jack.  I love the fact Rosie is stuck being a ghost in her most horrible PJ's and the only person that can actually see her is Charlie.

What can I say about Charlie?  As you all know I LOVE my book boyfriends and Charlie is definitely on that list.  He is handsome and looks out for Rosie, even though she is a ghost.

In short this story is just adorable and I must admit I cried even before the end, once I got to the epilogue I really did cry, but only because it was so perfect to the story.  A wonderful debut and look forward to reading more from this author.

5 out of 5 stars

Book Description

* Falling in love is never simple. Especially when you're dead.

* A very funny romantic comedy about Rosie Potter, who wakes up one morning to discover that she's very much dead but has no idea why or how. Perfect for fans of Claudia Carroll.

About the Author

Kate Winter is a journalist, novelist and storyteller from the North West of Ireland who was lucky enough to grow up with no TV (though she didn't consider it a lucky break at the time) and lots of books. After graduating from University of Ulster with first class honours and the Ulster Television Award for her BA in Media Studies, Kate promptly forged a glittering career for herself in waitressing. Then one day, beside a swimming pool in Australia, Kate decided it was time to write a book. The Happy Ever Afterlife of Rosie Potter (RIP) is a romantic and darkly funny romp, and is Kate's debut novel.
Follow Kate on Twitter: @KatiCut.

No comments:

Post a Comment