Tuesday, 4 February 2014

The Couple on the Green by Avie Bennett

The Couple on The Green – Avie Bennett Blog Tour!The Couple on the Green Tour Banner
Welcome to the The Couple on the Green Blog Tour!
Come and take the emotional journey that is The Couple on The Green and find out about the book readers are raving about.

product_thumbnail.php_
What they say:
'The course of true love never did run smooth, but is holding onto true love worth a lifetime of pain? Isobel and James are the couple everyone wants to be; wildly in love, compatible in every way and caught up in the sexually adventurous haze of young love, but just as they accept this life as theirs forever it is torn away from them. Theirs is the tale of an all-encompassing love-of-a-lifetime and the excruciating pain that so often accompanies it. This is the story of the love we all search for, but few can hold onto. James and Isobel get a second chance, but is it ever possible to get a happy ending?'

What I Say:

I would like to thank Charlotte from BestChicklit for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. I would also like to thank Avie Bennett for such a wonderful book.

The book opens in 2057, strange for a Chicklit book, but as we see it is where the story begins at the end......

Isobel tells hers and James's story to Gabriella over a cup of tea.  We then go way back to 1987 where Isobel and James first meet as teenagers and fall deeply in love, as with all true love this doesn't always run smoothly and as I followed the course of their lives I found myself crying along with Isobel as she struggles with her fathers illness CJD, which is no longer heard of, his ultimate death and the guilt she feels.

I followed the ups and downs of this book, thinking of the mistakes we all make and would they be able to put the past behind them to find happiness.  The books follows them through the years and I as read I kept hoping that they would find happiness and forgiveness. 

I was emotionally wrung out when I finished this book but really did love it, it has taken me a week to write my review and I really don't think I am doing it justice without giving too much away, I wouldn't want to spoil it for anyone wishing to read following my review. 

5 out of 5 tearful stars


WATCH THE TRAILER
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H3aMM-Exw7E&feature=youtu.be
'This is really an excellent debut, perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks and lovely romantic (even heart-breaking) stories.'

- Marina, This Chick Reads

IMG_1396_C_fb-1024x687Author Bio:
Avie Bennett started writing at the age of fourteen and never really stopped. She's had her work published in magazines, journals and newspapers but says she 'never really thought' to write a novel. That is, until recently when a burning desire bound her to do so.
Avie lives with her husband and children in Hampshire, England. When not writing, she can be found enjoying other creative pursuits such as art, music and photography.

Author Links

GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a comment