Monday, 7 March 2016

Blog Tour Review - The Cosy Tea Shop in the Castle by Caroline Roberts

Can Ellie bake her way to a happy ever after? A deliciously heartwarming novel for fans of Lucy Diamond and Milly Johnson.
When Ellie Hall lands her dream job running the little teashop in the beautiful but crumbling Claverham Castle, it’s the perfect escape from her humdrum job in the city. Life is definitely on the rise as Ellie replaces spreadsheets for scones, and continues her Nanna’s brilliant baking legacy.
When Lord Henry, the stick-in-the-mud owner, threatens to burst her baking bubble with his old-fashioned ways, Ellie wonders if she might have bitten off more than she can chew. But cupcake by cupcake she wins the locals over, including teashop stalwart, Doris, and Ellie’s show stopping bakes look set to go down in castle history!
Now all that’s missing in Ellie’s life is a slice of romance – can Joe, the brooding estate manager, be the one to put the cherry on the top of Ellie’s dream?

I would like to thank the publisher for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

I will mention the cover to this it's everything a chick lit cover should be for me, bright colours and it drew my eyes to it straight away.

When Ellie goes to Claverham Castle for an interview she had decided to apply for the job on a whim and never expected to land an interview, let alone the job.  I loved Ellie from the start as she decided to follow her dreams even when things got tough.

Caroline's descriptions had me wondering if the castle was based on a real on in Northumberland and I would really love to visit it.

Then we have estate manager Joe he is so lovely to read and I bet he was a complete joy to write.

My only grip about this book is that it is another one set in/around a cafe.  There are so many books at the moment set around cafes and food (although I love food), but I've got to the point where I want a change.  That's my moan, however it doesn't take away from this really great book and fabulous castle that I would love to read more about.

Family, friends, food, a glass of bubbly and, of course, a good book make me smile. I love writing emotional stories about love, loss, betrayal, and family that explore how complex and yet beautiful love can be. I also like to write romantic comedy, letting the characters have a bit of fun too! I believe in following your dreams, which led me here to Harper Impulse and a publishing deal after many years of writing. Stunning Northumberland is my home – sandy beaches, castles and gorgeous countryside that have inspired my writing.

No comments:

Post a Comment