Friday, 17 April 2015

Clash of Iron by Angus Watson


What They Say:

EADERS ARE FORGED IN THE FIRES OF WAR

Iron Age warriors Dug and Lowa captured Maidun castle and freed its slaves. But now they have conquered it, they must defend it.

A Roman invasion is coming from Gaul, but rather than uniting to protect their home, the British tribes battle each other - and see Maidun as an easy target.

Meanwhile, Lowa's spies infiltrate Gaul, discovering the Romans have recruited bloodthirsty British druids, and Maidunite Ragnall finds his loyalties torn when he meets Rome's charismatic general, Julius Caesar.

War is coming. Who will pay its price?

What I Say:

I would like to thank Clara Diaz for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

This is the following story from Age of Iron and in some ways doesn't live up to Age of Iron especially at the beginning of the story, things however do improve and have been set up for the third book.

I would say the book isn't for the faint hearted but I really can't wait to see where the author goes from here.  This is a violent take on life back then and  I'm sure life was really was like that if not worse for some people.

3 out of 5 stars



Book Description

Bloodthirsty druids and battle-hardened Iron Age warriors collide in the second volume of this action-packed historical fantasy trilogy which will appeal to fans of Joe Abercrombie and HBO's Game of Thrones

From the Back Cover

THE BLOODTHIRSTY, BATTLE-READY SEQUEL TO LAST YEAR'S MOST EXCITING EPIC FANTASY DEBUT.

"Watson's tale is gore soaked and profanity laden-full of visceral combat and earthy humour, and laced with subtle magic."
Publishers Weekly on AGE OF IRON

Would I read the next one? Yes, absolutely. Bring me my hammer, bring my beer, bring it on!
SF Crowsnest

Warriors Dug and Lowa captured Maidun Castle and freed its slaves. But now they must defend it. A Roman invasion is coming from Gaul, but rather than uniting to defend their home, the British tribes go to battle with one another, and see Maidun as an easy target.

WAR IS COMING. WHO WILL PAY ITS PRICE?

About the Author



Angus Watson is an author and journalist living in London. He's written hundreds of features for many newspapers including The TimesFinancial Times and Telegraph, and the latter even sent him to look for Bigfoot. As a fan of both historical fiction and epic fantasy, Angus came up with the idea of writing a fantasy set in the Iron Age when exploring British hillforts for the Telegraph, and developed the story while walking Britain's ancient paths for further articles. You can find him on twitter at @GusWatson or find his website: www.guswatson.com






No comments:

Post a comment